US places export restrictions on 93 entities from Russia, China, UAE, Turkey, others

By Thomson Reuters Feb 23, 2024 | 8:18 AM

WASHINGTON (Reuters) – The Biden administration has imposed new trade restrictions on 93 entities from Russia, China, Turkey, the United Arab Emirates, Kyrgyzstan, India and South Korea for supporting Russia’s war effort in Ukraine, according to a federal government notice posted online on Friday.

The action, one day before the second anniversary of Russia’s invasion of Ukraine, means companies will be placed on the Commerce Department’s “Entity List,” essentially banning U.S. shipments to them.

Of the new entities listed, 63 were from Russia, 16 from Turkey, eight from China and four from the UAE.

The move is one element of the latest round of sanctions and export controls by the United States, partners and allies in response to Russia’s ongoing war in Ukraine, which began on Feb. 24, 2022.

The U.S. also announced it would impose other sanctions on over 500 targets over the war and the death of Russian opposition leader Alexei Navalny.

Earlier this week, the European Union approved a 13th package of Ukraine-related sanctions against Russia, banning nearly 200 entities and individuals accused of helping Moscow procure weapons or of involvement in kidnapping Ukrainian children.

(Reporting by Karen Freifeld; Alexandra Alper and David Shepardson; Editing by Susan Heavey and Rami Ayyub)